Social Networking Thwarts NaNoWriMo Efforts

Image representing Facebook as depicted in Cru...

Image via CrunchBase

Last night I had to decide if I wanted to stay up for the beginning of NaNoWriMo. Of course, LIFE set in… The administrative work I needed to complete kept me from writing a single word!  I guess that is why I see so many people saying they “plan” for NaNoWriMo.  My third year, and I still have not planned.  Maybe next year.  However, I am not giving up for this year.  Plan or no plan, I will keep going!  Of course, writing in my blog does not count toward my book, unless I am planning to write a book about blogging.  Well… no… Anyway, it was a good thought.

So, the administrative work I had to complete consisted of updating all of my sites about self-publishing my first novel, which I mostly wrote during NaNoWriMo 2010.  Between G+, Facebook, my blog, and all of the Author Pages you must update for all of the Amazon sites, it was overwhelming.  And I’m not even on Twitter yet!  I need to hire someone to manage my social networking for me so I have time to write!

What have I learned from this?  Planning is so important!  Had I planned properly, I probably would not have self-published on Amazon.com on Halloween, the day before NaNoWriMo starts!  I am so excited to have my book published, and I wanted to put that chapter of my writing to an end (no pun intended, really!), so I did it anyway.

I hope everyone that is taking this journey with me wrote more words than I did.  I will catch up with you though.  I promise!

Related articles

5 thoughts on “Social Networking Thwarts NaNoWriMo Efforts

  1. Pingback: Okay, Planning for NaNoWriMo IS a Good Idea… | Sara S. Jansen

  2. JC Emery

    I’ve been keeping an eye on your blog and laughed so hard when I saw the title of this post. Oh man, how do I know that. I can’t even open FB near writing times or I lose a good hour guaranteed.

    Reply
    1. sarasjansen Post author

      JC, I hear ya… Late nights with not much to show for it. That’ll teach me to try to do everything at once… Or maybe not… 🙂 Hope your writing is going well.

      Reply

Rant Back At Me...

