The Second Presidential Debate

 

Ok, I have to fess up and admit that I didn’t watch the second Presidential Campaign debate live; I watched it last night on my DVR. I can somewhat understand why people say, “It’s not the same” to watch something after the fact.  I love my DVR because of the freedom it allows, but I can’t tell you how many times I have had to say, “Don’t say anything!” when someone started to talk about the Patriots or Red Sox games.  It was a little different with the debate. I wasn’t worried about the score, although I did hear that Obama “won.”  However, it is difficult to participate in the discourse when you don’t know what lies each of the candidates threw out this time.  I’m sorry if I sound bitter, but I really just want this election season to be finished. 

Overall, my impression was that Obama did a much better job this time around, and Romney didn’t know what to do about that.  Obama did not let Romney control the debate by looking down at his notes.  I agree with Paula Poundstone (on NPR’s Wait Wait, Don’t Tell Me!) that he probably didn’t know he would be on split screen.  I just hope he was crafting a letter of apology to Michelle for spending their anniversary with the Romneys. 

Anyway, Obama did not seem distracted this time, and in fact seemed like he thrives in a Town Hall setting. The extemporaneous nature of a Town Hall meeting favored Obama.  Overall, my impression is that Obama is more comfortable dealing with the average Joe.  Romney is a shrewd businessman, and he seems most comfortable when not put on the spot to think like a regular guy.

At one point, I thought Romney and Obama were going to come to blows.  Apparently, however, that is not a problem since Tagg would have fought the battle for his father.  I wonder how he would have fared against Malia and Sasha. Maybe we should have Connecticut Senate candidate Linda McMahon put them in the ring for the WWE.

I’m not going to get into the fact-checking aspect of the debate.  Suffice it to say, they both lied.  Once again, I am left longing for the days when we had politicians that served the people and were honest…  Um…  Well, at least we didn’t have the Internet to tell us just how much of what they said were lies.  Where, oh where, are my rose-colored glasses?

So, you are probably wondering if I have decided yet how I will vote.  Actually, I’m not sure I will be able to vote.  I was notified by my city that I did not fill out the city census (which I distinctly remember filling out and putting in the mailbox WITH a stamp), so I have been removed from the voting rolls.  I then filled out a voter registration card in front of a supermarket for a voter registration group.  They were very spirited and said many people in my city received the same letter.  Apparently, they had even canvassed my neighborhood months before and the registration forms had “just mysteriously disappeared”.  After signing me up and giving me a pen that reminds me to vote, they said I would receive a confirmation letter. I never did. I hope my form did not “mysteriously disappear,” as I have not had the time to register again and the deadline has now passed. Might have been easier if I had a voter ID.

You may ask, what difference does it make if you vote or not?  Well, I feel it is my duty as an American citizen.  Additionally, we have quite a few interesting questions on the ballot this year.  Not to mention we have a hotly-contested Senate race, Scott Brown and Elizabeth Warren.  (Personally, I don’t think Massachusetts voters will “split the ticket” and vote for Obama AND Scott Brown, but we shall see…)  Finally, I really want to know if I should be included in the number of disenfranchised citizens this year.  This will definitely be an interesting Election Day.  I could always vote on the issues that interest me and leave the others blank.  Or maybe I could make a statement in write in Ted Kennedy… Or Big Bird… Maybe I will just take a vacation day and stay in bed…

Rant Back At Me...

