Hurricane Sandy Brings ENOUGH!

Hurricane Sandy (2012): 60 km Wind Area Forecast

Hurricane Sandy (2012): 60 km Wind Area Forecast (Photo credit: Canadian Pacific)

Imagine my surprise to read that some right-wing Christian preacher is saying that I, as a lesbian, am the reason for Hurricane Sandy hitting the entire eastern seaboard.  Well, not me personally, but all gays, lesbian, bisexuals, and transgenders.  Oh, and anyone who “sides” with us.  Oh, and don’t forget the Muslim Brotherhood, Obama, and even Romney!  Although I hate to give him more hits, if you are interested in reading his rambling blog, it can be found below.

He truly believes that we need a massive prayer meeting to save America.  You know, I have been listening to my friends say there comes a point when you must speak up and say, “enough is enough.”  I think this might be it.  So, I am saying it.  ENOUGH!

ENOUGH WITH THE JUDGMENTS!  Romans 2:1-3 says, “Therefore thou art inexcusable, O man, whosoever thou art that judgest: for wherein thou judgest another, thou condemnest thyself: for thou that judgest does the same things. But we are sure that the judgement of God is according to truth against them which commit such things.  And thinkest thou this, O man, that judgest them which do such things, and doest the same, that thou shalt escape the judgment of God?”  TRANSLATION:  Don’t judge others, for if you do, you condemn yourself, for you do the same as others. Now I’m not saying this preacher has done the same things we in the LGBT community have done, but let’s see…  I have loved…  I have hurt…  I have wanted the right to pursue life, liberty, and happiness… Yes, I have had sex with members of the same sex.  But isn’t that between me and my God? I don’t stand in judgment of you for whatever you do in your bedroom…

ENOUGH WITH THE CHERRY-PICKING!  I am sick of hearing moderate Republicans say they are siding with Romney because of this or that, and they don’t agree with the suppression of rights for gays.  If you agree with a candidate on one issue, you have to agree with them on all.  Now, I’m not saying that I agree with Obama on all issues.  I don’t.  But I have to choose the issues that are the most important to me and vote accordingly.  And I have to take into account ALL of the issues.  Then, I have to stand with one or the other, based on what is most important to me.  SOOOOO, that means if you tell me you are voting for Romney due to his economic policies, then stand up for that belief and tell me you think your paycheck is more important than my rights as a citizen of this country, and as a human being.

ENOUGH WITH THE DENIAL!  I don’t understand how anyone who has ever been oppressed can do the same to others.  If you have suffered due to your race, or your sex, or your nationality, or your immigration status, or your weight, or your height, or your physical disabilities, or your learning disabilities, or your age, or your religion, or…  How can you look me in the eye and say it is okay to do to me what was done to you?  IT IS ALL THE SAME!!!!  Martin Luther King, Jr. would be so ashamed of his niece.  He spoke out for equality for all.  He would not have wanted to transfer racial prejudice to gay bigotry.  He talked about standing in resistance to segregation, all while making friends with whites.  Where is the camaraderie between blacks and gays?  Where is the love?

ENOUGH WITH THE HATE!  My entire life I have been taught that Christianity is about love.  That God is about love.  That we should love our neighbors.  That we should love our enemies.  That we should love the sinners.  Where is that love for the LGBT community?  If you really believe gays are sinners, where is the love?  Love doesn’t mean standing in judgment.  Love doesn’t mean taking away rights, taking away children, taking away life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness.  Love doesn’t mean bashing us in the head with baseball bats or hanging us out like scarecrows.  Love doesn’t mean raping us to teach us a lesson.

Yes, I am saying ENOUGH!  I hope others speak up with me and say ENOUGH!  I want to hear how you have had ENOUGH!

Rant Back At Me...

